Forest management group schemes

Forest Management group certification has been developed to help forest owners, and in particular owners of smaller woods, achieve FSC certification by reducing the auditing burden and costs.

FSC woodland (c) FSC UK/ E. Parker
FSC UK/ E. Parker

Woodland owners can become certified jointly under one certificate, or if their estates are managed by a resource management company, the resource manager can establish their own group scheme for those owners who wish to participate.

A group scheme manager will be responsible for ensuring that all members of the group are using systems that meet the FSC rules. In the case of Resource Manager groups, the resource manager will be the group manager. Certification bodies will check group scheme management procedures and audit a sample of group members, rather than auditing each individual forest owner.

NOTE: Group Chain of Custody schemes are issued with a single certificate; group members do not hold individual FSC certificates in their own right. Therefore, if the central office or any group member contravenes the requirements of the relevant standards it may lead to the whole group being suspended or terminated.

Forest Management Groups Standard (FSC-STD-30-005 V2-0)
PDF, Size: 805.15KB

Forest management group certification standard

This standard specifies the requirements for group entities (the certificate holder) managing a group of forest management units under a single certificate, a process referred to as ‘group certification'.

Group scheme

Area(s) covered

Contact information

Bell Ingram LLP

bellingram.co.uk

SA-FM/COC-001194

Scotland and Northern England

Jim Adam

WoodlandCertification@bellingram.co.uk

01738621121

Bronwin & Abbey Ltd

bronwin.co.uk/services/forestcertification

SA-FM/COC-001216

Wales, Gloucestershire and Midlands

Andrew Bronwin

01597825900

andrew@bronwin.co.uk

DGA Forestry LLP

dga-forestry.co.uk

SGS-FM/COC-000324

UK

Sandy Anderson

01387730634

sandy@dga-forestry.co.uk

Fountains Forestry UK Ltd T/A Fountains Forestry

fountainsforestry.co.uk

SA-FM/COC-005879

UK

Douglas Murray

01463731393

douglas.murray@fountainsforestry.co.uk

Highfield Forestry Ltd

highfield-forestry.com

SGS-FM/COC-002512

Scotland and Wales

David Grieve

d.grieve@highfield-forestry.com

01738442903 / 07789502284

Premier Woodlands Ltd

premierwoodlands.com

CU-FM/COC-807986

Scotland

Matthew Magee

01738472052 / 07766774839

matthew.magee@premierwoodlands.com

Pryor and Rickett Silviculture Ltd

silviculture.co.uk/management/certification

SA-FM/COC-001446

UK

Steve Knight

01874620777

steve@silviculture.co.uk

RTS Ltd

rtsforestry.co.uk

SA-FM/COC-007176

Scotland

Harry Wilson

harry.wilson@rts.ltd.uk

01764652858

Scottish Woodlands Ltd

scottishwoodlands.co.uk

SGS-FM/COC-000260

UK-wide, particularly Scotland

Stuart Wilkie

stuart.wilkie@scottishwoodlands.co.uk

01738474086

Tilhill Forestry Ltd

tilhill.com

SA-FM/COC-004552

UK

Ewan McIntosh

ewan.mcintosh@tilhill.com

01653696083

UK Forest Certification Ltd (UK FCG)

forestcertification.org.uk

SA-FM/COC-004807

UK

Phil Webb

phil@forestcertification.org.uk

07970388940